The purposes of the American Petroleum Professionals of Iranian Heritage (APPIH) scholarship program are to promote excellence in the education students of Iranian heritage receive.  Scholarships will be awarded to the selected qualified applicants who are pursuing a graduate study (Ph.D. and M.S. level) in petroleum engineering or related disciplines in the USA.  The recipients of the 2018 scholarship program will be recognized during the six annual meeting of APPIH, to be held on Sunday, September 23, 2018, room C154 at Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center, in Dallas, Texas from 5pm to 8pm.

Applicant’s qualifications:

  1. Must be of Iranian descent (one parent must be of Iranian descent).
  2. Must be enrolled in graduate studies pursuing a Ph.D. or M.S. degree in the field of petroleum engineering (or related disciplines) at an accredited university within the USA.
  3. Must be a member of APPIH
  4. Recipient is expected to be present at the awards ceremony to be held at the APPIH annual meeting.

Required documents:

  1. Completed APPIH scholarship application form.
  2. A current resume, include a description of Ph.D. or M.S. research area and list of publications and expected graduation date.
  3. Copies of Master’s and/or undergraduate college transcripts.
  4. A copy of the transcript for the current field of study for the last two years.
  5. Two letters of recommendation addressed to the scholarship committee at APPIH; one of which must be written by the applicant’s professor in his/her major field of study.
  6. An essay in English (double-spaced, not to exceed two 8 ½ x 11 pages) demonstrating the desire to pursue a leadership role in his/her field of study and indicating specific plans on how to become a contributor to the petroleum industry and the Iranian-American professional communities.

How to apply and submission deadline

Please start the process by completing the “Application Form”.

The required documents, listed above, must be received by APPIH no later than August 25, 2018.  All documents, in digital (PDF) format, must be emailed to Scholarship recipients will be selected by early September 2018.

Past APPIH Scholarship Recipients

  • Behnaz Rahmani Didar
  • Mehrdad Shirangi
  • Saeed Zargari
  • Simin Sadeghi
  • Morteza Elahi Naraghi
  • Kouroush Maleki
  • Milad Ahmadi
  • Mehrdad Alfi
  • Ramin Dabirian
  • Ali Abouie
  •  Mehran Hosseini
  • Negar Rezaei
  • Alireza Sanaei
  • Pouyan Ebrahimi
  • Siavash Hakim Elahi
  • Mahmood Shakiba